The Ghost in the Golf Bag – October 31st

It was trick or treat for the Kildare Group golfers on Halloween. It was “treat” for Joel Temple, George Stelmach, Ed Nafus and Scott Thompson. It was “trick” for me. Joel’s recovery from foot surgery seems to be a non-issue as he cleaned up with a gross 74. He carded two birdies, a bogey and a double-bogey to go along with his 14 pars. Everyone agrees it’s nice to have Joel back, however, I’m hoping he’ll let someone else win sometime in the near future.

Low Gross

  1. Joel Temple – 74
  2. George Stelmach, Ed Nafus and Scott Thompson – 78

Low Net

  1. George Stelmach – 64
  2. Joel Temple – 65
  3. Brian Laks – 66

Sandy Wiener fired his second eagle in less than a month when he dropped in a three on the par 5 #6 Dunes course.

With twenty-four players in the field, only six failed to shoot net par or below. I was in that six. In fact, I finished sixth out of those six. I’m not sure what evil Halloween spirit inhabited my bag, but the S.O.B. had better be gone when I tee it up again tomorrow. My day was typified by my experience on #9 Lakes where I hit a drive close to the 150 yard marker. My eight-iron approach shot was dead on the stick until a slight breeze caused it to drift about twelve feet. This would have still been a fine second shot with a good crack at eagle had it not been for the fact that the edge of the lake was only ten feet distant. As Forrest Gump said, “. . . it happens.” A sure par was there and I still had a good chance of birdie from ten feet. Unfortunately, as I approached the drop point by the water’s edge I reached for a brand new Pro VIx – never been hit – ball. As I brought it out of my pocket, I fumbled it (Cardinal fans are familiar with this trick) and the evil spirits chased it directly into the lake to rest alongside my previously hit ball. I was eight bucks down and still hadn’t reached the green. This was one of the better parts of my day; it went downhill from there. But who am I to complain?

Author: h. Alton Jones

writer/scientist/adventurer

Leave a Reply

