She Was Angry Wednesday

Collins WienerI have no explanation, but there were few survivors on Men’s Day. The Arroyo/Lakes course rose up like a swamp monster and swallowed most who challenged it. Scores averaged two strokes higher than normal. Only seven out of the seventy-one competitors bested their handicap, half the number normally expected. The only golfers on that short list are Chris Balakas, Jerry Whalen, Steve Bartha, Dick Loeb, John Malletta, Doug Dewar and Ted Akiba. It’s all the more difficult to explain because the weather was perfect and the course was in very good condition.

Not surprisingly, the aforementioned golfers also accounted for much of the prize money. First place went to the team of Pat Collins and Sandy Wiener. They were tied with John Deery and Balakas, but took the big prize with a scorecard playoff. Gary Graham and Tom Swan grabbed third.

Low Gross

  1. Bob Proebstle – 78
  2. Chris Balakas – 79
  3. Jerry Whalen, Steve Bartha, John Malletta and Andy Anderson – 80

Low Net

  1. Chris Balakas – 64
  2. Jerry Whalen – 65
  3. Steve Bartha – 66

The skins pot was split up between Andy Anderson, Tom Swan, Steve King, Bob Proebstle, Gary Reibman, Mark Ramser, Sandy Wiener, Steve Bartha, Ted Akiba and Steve Loeb.

The Money List after week eleven of Men’s Day looks like this.

Author: h. Alton Jones


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s